Your healthcare news library

Archive for April 17, 2024

My first time at an archery class: ‘There’s so much tension it’s like a romantic comedy’

In her fortnightly review of fitness and wellbeing activities, comedian Jennifer Wong finds that to succeed in life and archery, it helps to aim lower

* Get our weekend culture and lifestyle email

I arrive at Sydney Olympic Park Archery Centre for my one-on-one lesson dressed according to instructions on its website: enclosed shoes, a long-sleeved shirt, sunglasses, a hat and with my long hair tied back. I feel like I’m undercover. Soon, though, I will be grateful to be literally under cover.

It begins to bucket down from the dark grey sky – real end-of-days vibes and oddly fitting for a sport that traces its history back to hunting and warfare, although perhaps that is too long a bow to draw. Continue reading…
http://dlvr.it/T5dVqX

The Sorry State of Postpartum Care in America

We have normalized postpartum pain in the U.S. instead of treating it, write Maytal Eyal and Bridget Freihart.
http://dlvr.it/T5d4Cn

Renault sent me an £11,000 bill to repair my Zoe heater

The car is just five years old, and now the company seems to be washing its hands of the matter

I read with interest your recent letter.

Unfortunately, I am having a very similar experience, but, in my case, Renault wants to charge us £9,121 to repair the heater on our Zoe, which we bought new for £30,000. Continue reading…
http://dlvr.it/T5cL1j

I used to love sex. But my boyfriend’s premature ejaculation is turning me off it – and him

We’ve been together for five years, but I’m losing interest. And he won’t talk about it

My partner of five years has problems with premature ejaculation. He gets overexcited easily and can sometimes ejaculate before any penetration. I used to have a high sex drive and love having sex, but now I dread the disappointment. He is always willing to try to satisfy me, but I find it so disappointing and I lose interest. It’s affecting how I feel about him. He gets very insecure when we talk about it, so I can’t discuss how I feel without him thinking he’s a failure.

This condition can be treated successfully by a qualified sex therapist. Your partner simply needs to realise that he could have far more pleasure by seeking help for what is a very common issue. Try a matter-of-fact approach and educate him; despite what he probably thinks, he can learn to control his moment of ejaculation and learn to last longer – for his sake as well as yours. Sex therapists’ treatment for early ejaculation usually involves exercises that, while they can be done alone, are often best carried out with a partner, so express your willingness to support him in that way. If he agrees, it will be rewarding for both of you. Continue reading…
http://dlvr.it/T5b2X5

The U.K. to Vote on World’s Only Generational Smoking Ban

Lawmakers are expected to pass an effective lifetime ban on smoking for those under the age of 15.
http://dlvr.it/T5b2Rd